Advisory For Women – Blue Ireland Magazine

 

 
I was recently contacted by somebody called Andrew Booth from a not-yet-published magazine called  Blue Ireland.   He said he was  “coordinating the journalistic side of the magazine”  and requested an interview with me about the BDSM scene in Ireland.   After looking at their web page, I noted the complete absence of images of men, and that the only  blue  images they appeared interested in were of women.   Ok.

So I replied indicating that I’d be happy to consider his questions via email.   Andrew attempted to arrange a phone conversation and a meeting with me in person, and indicated a favourable response to email contact.   After my second offer to answer his questions by email, I never heard from him again.
 

    I thought that was weird.

 
After his initial rapid response to me and despite his claimed interest in an interview, I heard absolutely nothing at all from Andrew Booth after my last email.   So I’m wondering, why did Andrew decline to follow up on his interview request after I offered to oblige?   If he wanted something other than an interview, why didn’t he say so in his correspondence?  

I mean, I don’t understand why a person would ask for an interview on a topic if what they wanted was something else, you know?
 

    So if you are a woman in Ireland and somebody from  Blue Ireland  magazine contacts you for an interview, you may want to exercise some caution.

 
Here is the complete correspondence between myself and Andrew Booth from  Blue Ireland  magazine.
 

From:   Andrew  [at a Blue Ireland domain email address]
To:   Lubyanka
Date:   Tuesday 23 February 2010 at 16:16
Subject:   Article

Hi,

I’m currently researching an article for the first edition of Blue Ireland
on the BDSM community in Ireland, and a sort of over view of the scene in
general.   The tone will be interested but not earnest and light hearted but
not mocking.   We’d love to interview you, or someone you’d recomend, and
see where we go from there.   I’m coordinating the journalistic side of the
magazine, and can organize either a male or female journalist, depending
on who you’d prefer.

Any way,

I hope this of interest to yourself, and if it isn’t you could point us in
the direction of someone better able to help,

All the best,

Andrew
Blue Ireland
[mobile number supplied]

Please note that the contents of this email are entirely confidential and
are not intended for anyone other than the original recipient
.
 

 
From:   Lubyanka
To:   Andrew
Date:   Wednesday 24 February 2010 at 11:38
Subject:   Re: Article

Hello Andrew,

I’d be happy to consider answering questions by email.

Regards,

Lubyanka.
 

 
From:   Andrew Booth
To:   Lubyanka
Date:   Wednesday 24 February 2010 at 11:51
Subject:   Re: Article

Hi Lubyanka,

Thanks for your swift response.   Ideally from the articles point of view we’d like to do an interview in person.   Obviously, everything can be as anonymous as you’d like- we’re not interested in outing you, just in the scene, and af course if you’d like to include links to your site etc, we’re more than happy to do that.   Perhaps if you give me a ring, I can explain better.   Naturally, if you’re totally opposed to a face to face meeting, email or phone will work for us.

Many thanks and all the best,

Andrew

Andrew Booth
[mobile number supplied]
 

 
From:   Lubyanka
To:   Andrew Booth
Date:   Wednesday 24 February 2010 at 12:40
Subject:   Re: Article

Hello Andrew,

As I said, I’d be happy to consider answering your questions by email.   I hope that works for you.

Regards,

Lubyanka.

 
Update 26 May 2010  –  Due to my disinterest in supporting this publication, I have removed all hyperlinks to it.
 

About Lady Lubyanka

I am a 45 year old musician, and also a multisexual, polyamourous, Jewish, socially dominant woman within my romantic BDSM relationships.
This entry was posted in Consent, correspondence, Dublin, Safety, The Scene. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Advisory For Women – Blue Ireland Magazine

  1. Ian says:

    You might notice as well that there is an offer to pay for photos of “Readers’ Wives” and “Hot Irish Ladies” – but not “Hot Readers” (or their husbands). A Freudian slip that suggests “Readers” are expected to be men. It doesn’t exactly give the same ‘balanced’ sort of impression as Bizarre or (the old) Eros does it?

  2. I don’t think the assumption of male readership was a slip at all, I think it was completely intentional. As for balance, I think this magazine is clearly intended to entertain heterosexual men and nobody else.

    And I think that targeting such a specific audience is absolutely fine.

    My problem here is that they  said  they wanted one thing from me when apparently they wanted something entirely different  and undisclosed.   This leads me to wonder, do the staff at  Blue Ireland  magazine generally deal evasively with the women they want to profit from?

  3. Andrew says:

    Hi, Lubyanka,

    Thanks for your public endorsement… I must apologize for not getting back to you as promptly as you would have liked, but I forwarded your email onto the journalist writing the piece and asked him to get on with it.

    I’m afraid the request for an interview was not more sinister than just that, a request for an interview. One of the things we’d like to do with Blue Ireland, other than traditional adult entertainment, is have a look at some of the scene’s around in Ireland.

    I’ll give the journalist a kick and see if he can get up the nerve to contact you.

    All the best,

    Andrew

  4. Pingback: Blue Ireland Magazine – Continued « Lady Lubyanka

  5. Pingback: Blue Ireland – The Saga Continues « Lady Lubyanka

Spill yo oh-PIN-yunz after the tone ...

