A Civilised Experience.

 
27 May, 2007  –  Having had a relatively early night  (considering we got to bed at 06:00 after Flogging With Irving),  kvetch and I drug ourselves out of bed and took Irving the rubber chicken to the Irish National Gallery for an afternoon performance of the Irish Baroque Orchestra.

I  really  wanted to go to this concert.   Early music is a favourite of mine and quite a time had elapsed since I’d been to my last concert.   It’s one of the things about me I want to share with kvetch.   I knew he’d enjoy it because although his exposure to music is mostly limited to the popular genres, he does have excellent musical taste and appreciation of the better examples of those genres.  

Also, I knew that in contrast with our debauched night dripping with leather floggyness, a tranquil, cultivated, civilised experience the next day would be just the thing.

IBO Concert Leaflet - 2007 - The Shadow of the Guillotine I’d spotted the leaflet advertising the concert at Yamamori a few weeks before.

Now, normally I avoid classical concerts in Ireland unless I am familiar with the artists, because the standard of performance is too often low enough to seriously interfere with my enjoyment of the music.   But having spotted that Monica Huggett was a big part of this, and hers being a name I knew, admired, and respected, I felt confident that this experience was going to be a goodie.   :)

So, a few days before the BDSM night  (after giving up on trying to book the tickets on their website),  I booked the tickets over the phone.

For some reason their card doohicky wouldn’t accept my payment on their website  or  over the phone, but they booked the tickets for me anyhow, and said I could pay on the day.   This was just absolutely perfect, couldn’t be better.   This way, if the next day found kvetch and me too tired to move, then we could give the concert a miss and not be out of pocket.   But I did super extra bonus  want  to get to this concert if at all possible.
 

About Lady Lubyanka

I am a 45 year old musician, and also a multisexual, polyamourous, Jewish, socially dominant woman within my romantic BDSM relationships.
This entry was posted in Droolworthy Stuff, Dublin, Interesting musical instruments, Irving, Me Me Me Me Me, Psychology, Respect, serf. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Civilised Experience.

  1. Clovis says:

    Very nice blog and story. How did you first get teamed up with Irving?

  2. Thank you Clovis. :)

    I’m not sure I can give you a definitive answer. Something clicked in my mind:

    Squeaky Rubber Chicken – Flogging

    And I saw Irving in the dog chew bin of the local pet shop. I think there may be more of that in Rubber Chicken Weekend

    I had decided that it was time to break out My rubber chicken, which I had fortuitously found in a pet shop in Dublin, in with the dog chews. It had a squeaker too. I don’t think it would make a very good dog chew, as it would probably die within 3 seconds of being chewed by even the most toothless of dogs, but it was great for comedy value, and the odd bit of flogging. ;) So I’d brought it with Me that day.

    I’ve had a hell of a lot of mileage out of Irving since then, fantastic. :D

  3. Tom Allen says:

    I’m reminded of a scene near the end of “Repo Man” in which a punker kid gets shot while robbing a store. As he falls to the ground he says “I blame society.”

  4. Hello Tom :)

    Did you mean this comment to go in the “Society” rant post?

    All that aside, lol. :)

  5. Tom Allen says:

    Damn.

    I’m going to blame society my new glasses.

  6. lol. :)

    *sentences new glasses to 2 years of community service, where they have to make Tom Allen look hot*

    *cautions Mr Allen not to make any remarks pertaining to “hard labour”*

    *ducks*

  7. Tom Allen says:

    *cautions Mr Allen not to make any remarks pertaining to “hard labour”*

    Damn!

    *bites tongue*

    Must… control… pun… reaction…

Spill yo oh-PIN-yunz after the tone ...

